Hidden Treasure: Lake Apo

I’m cleaning my phone gallery when I saw pictures of my trip in Lake Apo. So I want to share with you the beauty of this place. Spring on the mountain is really a breathtaking view. It’s not rare scenery but its definitely one of the best nature had given to us. Being a wanderlust this is a bucket list. Personally  I prefer to be on mountains than on the sea. I don’t know but being surrounded by greens is a soul healer.  (That is why when I have enough money I will buy a property similar to Twilight house setting.   I so loved that kind of place. I don’t mind the drive going to work. I know living away from the city is my medicine. ) This place is a tourist area. You can actually google lots of pictures and directions. I’m just posting my own experience and let you see things in my view. 

Hidden Treasure: Lake Apo

IMG_20160417_195045

Unlike any adventure you are thinking this one does not need for you to pack up hiking gears. In fact you can bring anything you like and drive your car. The only thing that would really be your enemy is the road not (Not cemented – off road. For me who has not drive in this kind of road it was really a challenge. Since it’s my friend’s car he practically wants to grab the wheel because according to him it will take us forever. On my defense I am not familiar with the road.) and the dust (Imagine the cleaning when you got home, oh well, it was not my problem anymore.) You will not be passing trees instead plantations of pineapples and pineapples and I guess some bananas and mountain views. (Almost all areas on the way is brought and turned into plantations by a big company or so I was told by a friend who was a resident of the barangay where the lake is located.)

20160417_150831Lake Apo has been visited for many reasons. I saw pictures in google that it has been for pre-nuptial weddings, birthdays and mostly when you wanted to chill out with your friends. And really its very ideal for that kind of events. The place is timeless. (Oh, by the way, a university is just located below the mountains other side – Central Mindanao University. It’s one of the biggest university town in the Philippines and top performing too.) According to my grandfather and my friend, the lake is both private own and government own. (Just across the lake you will find a house. People cannot own lake so I guess the land on the other side is what is private. As the lake itself is maintained by the barangay officials.) The vacation house or lake house is private but I guess you can go in there to take pictures. (Not really sure, because on my latest visit we didn’t go there.  I just keep jumping on the lake. Ahaha). 

By the way, if your swimming skills is crappy you better put on life jacket. There is a current and the lake is deep, very deep. But you can hold on to the rope of your cottage. (Kawayan cottage.) The floating cottage is what makes the place stand out and visited both locals and tourist. You can be in the middle of the lake. How cool is that! 

Directions

IMG_20160417_190250.jpgThe entrance point is Valencia City, Bukidnon. No planes. Just land travel from Cagayan City or from Davao City. (If you are really not from this places of neighboring places. Bukidnon is actually located in the middle of this two big cities in Mindanao.) Once you reach Valencia City the two ways to go there, if private car you can straight drive as for directions you can asked the local. (I’m so sorry I haven’t paid attention with the streets since my friend is their and I’m quite familiar with the city.) The second one is rent a single motorcycle or if you are many you can actually hire a multicab with the right price(But if I remember correctly another entry point is in the town of Maramag. But I’m not familiar.) And yes from the city it is quite a distance. An hour drive. No traffic. You’ll just meet big trucks loaded with harvested fruits. 

There is no entrance fee. The only thing you shall pay is the cottage fee which is 200php. And that is good for the whole day. And because its quite far the place is not crowded. Three to four families/friends we saw. 

Aly’s Thought

IMG_20160417_190600

You can where your swimsuits who cares this is a free country. Just be prepared for the awkward stares by other people. Haha.. Too bad when we went here (Bukidnon) I didn’t expect we will go to Lake Apo. It was just my whims and he actually said yes. (We only plan to hike mountains.). So along with my other friend we went Oh well, as they say unplanned moments are the best!

Leave a Reply

