Unexpected: Dangerous Friend

“Your scar, that’s why I recognized you.” 

This is the most unexpected thing I ever heard from a stranger. Nor even think that my scar is a way that I will be recognized. I’m not wearing concealer to hide the scar on my cheeks. (I just went to accompany my younger brother for his check-up. If your asking why I haven’t undergo to erase it. It’s a painful reminder.) And because I haven’t a slightest idea who he is, maybe he saw that imaginary question mark on my head and chuckle. He roll the sleeves of his polo and I saw an old scar, a scar I remember. (Who would have ever thought that I can recognized him that way. Didn’t know something on the book really happen on real life.)

His scar was from a gunshot he received while he was on a job. And no his job is not the ones you have read in the books and watch on movies – not the good side. How did we meet? We meet in a circumstance that he was hired by someone I knew well. He was hired to protect that someone.  It was back of the summer in 2013, you see guys. He was left in the headquarters as it was called while I was doing some errands in that place. (I’m doing safe errands. I was asked to deliver some documents as will as files for the computer.) There was a guy (He was near my age and yes I was not wrong he was just 3 years older than me.) busy with a cleaning a gun sitting on a corner table with a coffee on it. Curious as hell I walked to him. And the first thing he said “Good girl should stay away from dangerous thing.” But I’m really stubborn once I want to feed up my curiosity and that’s how our friendship is formed. Even if it was for a short one week I did learn his dangerous life and he learned my boring college life. He was actually fascinated at me because I knew to well what is his job but I was very persistent to asked things that only someone like him can answer. And the fact that I was not afraid to approach him. (Truth to be told, among his colleges its only him I am not afraid nor intimidated. He cussed but not in angry and dangerous tone. And moreover, his face does not look like that he was kind into that job. He looks like any other college students who worked out. Lastly, he hangs out like what normal people do. But his really not scary face at all.)

The thing is – I well always remember what he said to me. “As long as you had a choice never choose a life that will bring you to a path where bullets and danger will always follow you. You may have received a handful sum but you already seal the end result of your life.” And the dumbest question I could have asked to him – Do you still believe in God? He actually smiled and laugh a little (He might really think at that time I was too bold for my own good and to curious to shut up.) and said when your doing this job, believe me, “I believe in God. I pray in God, that is the only thing you can do while doing something that will cost your life. He is the only thing you can relay on even if it sounds ridiculous and selfish on our part.” 

Seriously, he is just three years older than me but his words of wisdom is deep. And he still treats me like a kid. Too bad our reunion was short (We did talk a lot and catch up with our life for that short moment but not really that long.) because he was on business (Books and movies are right when they portray that people underground has a great disguise.) and I was with my younger brother on his check-up I just actually grab a coffee at the coffee shop infront the clinic. But hey! We might meet again. You gotta live your life a little dangerous for that I earn a good smack on the head. His parting words really makes me laugh, “Life is really funny, in the near future I will be having a friend who sticks to the law. And she will continue to have a dangerous friend who don’t give a crap to the law.” 

 

Leave a Reply

